You have until 1st July to submit an entry or nomination for the ‘Destinations of sustainable tourism’ awards, being held as part of EYCH 2018. Read on to find out more!

A special initiative has been developed by the European Cultural Tourism Network (ECTN), European Travel Commission (ETC) and Europa Nostra under the frame of the European Year of Cultural Heritage (EYCH) 2018.

Instead of analysing risks or studying mutual advantages, we are launching a special edition of ECTN’s existing award for ‘Destinations of sustainable tourism’, which will contribute in an original way to one of the ten European initiatives of the EYCH; ‘Tourism and heritage: promoting sustainable and responsible tourism’.

The awards will be given for achievements by cultural tourist destinations which have produced significant results related to enhancing visitor experience while respecting traditions and involving local communities.

The awards will cover the following heritage-related aspects of cultural tourism.

1. Religious and Pilgrimage
2. Coastal and Maritime
3. Cultural Landscapes
4. Industrial and Military
5. Historic Houses, Villages and Cities
6. Transnational Thematic Products
7. Contributions by Cultural and Creative Industries (CCI’s)

The awards are open to all tourist destinations across Europe, local and regional authorities, tourism boards and associations, destination management organisations, cultural NGOs.

This is a unique opportunity to apply for an award that addresses specifically your mission or core business. Please take a look at the further information and spread the message!

Further information, the award criteria and the application form can be found here: 

The deadline is 1 July, 2018. We look forward to receiving many applications!

Piet Jaspaert is the Vice-President of Europa Nostra (, a member of the European Heritage Alliance 3.3

To cite this article: 
Jaspaert, Piet (2018) ‘Sustainable tourism awards’. In Interpret Europe Newsletter 1-2018, 34. 
Available online: